Principles of cooperation with partner countries

Learn more about the BMEL's priority countries for cooperation and the principles, objectives and instruments of bilateral cooperation with these countries.

Principles of cooperation with the countries of Oceania

The priority countries for cooperation with Oceania are Australia and New Zealand.

Australia and New Zealand – the key countries in the Oceania region – are important agricultural producers that export two thirds of their agricultural produce due to their own relatively small populations. Both countries pursue pro-active trade policies with a focus on Asia, and both compete against one another with their products (milk, meat, cereals) on international markets. As staunch proponents of trade liberalisation, they play a major role in international trade policy. Given the great significance of livestock production in both countries and its impact on the climate, there is considerable interest in establishing an international research alliance. The first concrete steps were taken here with the adoption of the "Global Research Alliance on Agricultural Greenhouse Gases" which was initiated by New Zealand at the World Climate Conference in Copenhagen in December 2009.

The central goals of cooperation include the coordination of positions to improve overall trade and investment conditions, the promotion of bilateral and multilateral trade, the expansion of agricultural research, as well as joint initiatives to improve resource and climate protection.

As of:



© Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture