Principles of cooperation with partner countries

Learn more about the BMEL's priority countries for cooperation and the principles, objectives and instruments of bilateral cooperation with these countries.

Principles of cooperation with North America

The priority countries for cooperation with North America are the U.S.A., Canada and Mexico.

The U.S.A. and Canada are among the world’s largest agricultural producers and represent a major force driving technological progress in numerous areas of agriculture. On account of their political and economic power, their influence on the behaviour of international agricultural markets, and their role as heavyweight competitors in the global agricultural trade, they are key partners on every issue concerning resource, energy and trade policy. Furthermore, the U.S.A. is one of the three most important non-EU markets for German agricultural products.

As signatories to the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), the U.S.A., Canada and Mexico form a common free trade zone. The EU concluded a free trade agreement with Mexico in the year 2000. In 2016 negotiations were started to revamp this free trade agreement. Negotiations with Canada on such an agreement (CETA - Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement) have been concluded. With the negotiating partners having signed CETA, the agreement has now been referred to the national parliaments for endorsement. In June 2013, negotiations on an agreement were started with the U.S.A. (TTIP - Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership).

The central goals of cooperation with partner countries in North America include the promotion of bilateral and multilateral trade and economic cooperation, health-based consumer protection, the coordination of positions for negotiations in international organisations (e.g. WTO, FAO) and global food security.

As of:



© Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture