Scientific Advisory Board on Forest Policy

The Scientific Advisory Board on Forest Policy (Wissenschaftlicher Beirat für Waldpolitik – WBW) advises and supports the Federal Government in developing the framework for the sustainable management of forests.

The members of the Advisory Board represent a number of different specialist scientific disciplines which reflect the demands that society makes of forests.
The latter include:

  • secure supplies of the renewable resource of timber for the timber industry and the energy sector;
  • the safeguarding of jobs, in particular in rural areas;
  • the preservation of biodiversity;
  • climate protection and the adaptation of forests to climate change;
  • the use of the forests for recreation and leisure activities; and
  • regard for the balance between ownership interests and social responsibility.

The Advisory Board examines the objectives and principles of national and international forest policy. It presents proposals for developing the forest-policy framework and the instruments for implementing the Federal Government's 2020 Forest Strategy. It also attempts to reconcile the different demands that society makes of forests and promotes scientific discourse on a sustainable, multifunctional management of forests. In addition to this, it discusses and assesses situations and conditions, makes suggestions if there is a need for change, and picks up on initiatives from various areas and fields of science and society. It draws up status reports and recommendations to support and advise policy makers.


The publications of the Scientific Advisory Board on Forest Policy are available in two languages:



Prof. Dr. Jürgen Bauhus (Chair of the WBW)
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Institute for Forest Sciences
Chair of Forest Growth
Faculty of Environment and Natural Resources
Tennenbacherstraße 4
79106 Freiburg i. Br

Prof. Dr. Ute Seeling (Deputy Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board WBW)
Bern University of Applied Sciences
School of Agricultural, Forest and Food Sciences HAFL
Agricultural, Forest and Food Sciences
Länggasse 85
3052 Zollikofen (Switzerland)

Prof. Dr. Matthias Dieter
Institute of Forest Economics
Leuschnerstraße 91
21031 Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Nina Farwig
Conservation Ecology
Faculty of Biology
Philipps-Universität Marburg
Karl-von-Frisch-Str. 8
35032 Marburg

Prof. Dr. Ing. Annette Hafner
Resource Efficient Building
Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Universitätsstr. 150, IC5 -159
44801 Bochum

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Reinhard F. Hüttl (membership suspended)
Chairman of the Board and Scientific Executive Director
Helmholtz Centre Potsdam
German Research Centre for Geosciences GFZ
Telegrafenberg, G 309
14473 Potsdam

Prof. Dr. habil Ralf Kätzel
Eberswalde Forestry Competence Centre
Director of Forest Ecology and Monitoring
Alfred-Möller-Str. 1
16225 Eberswalde

Prof. Dr. Birgit Kleinschmit
Faculty Planning Building Environment
Technische Universität Berlin
Institute of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning
Geoinformation in Environmental Planning (EB5)
Straße des 17. Juni 145
10623 Berlin

Dr. Marcus Lindner
Faculty of Science and Forestry, University of Eastern Finland
European Forest Institute
Platz der Vereinten Nationen 7
53113 Bonn

Prof. Dr. Friederike Lang
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Institute for Forest Sciences
Chair of Soil Ecology
Faculty of Environment and Natural Resources
University of Freiburg
Bertoldstraße 17
79085 Freiburg i. Br.

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Möhring
Head of the Department for Forest Economics and Forest Utilization
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Institute of Forest Economics
Büsgenweg 5
37077 Göttingen

Prof. Dr. Jörg Müller
Chair of Animal Ecology and Tropical Biology
Biocenter of the University of Würzburg
Glashüttenstraße 5
96181 Rauhenebrach

Prof. Dr. Manfred Niekisch
Goethe-Universität Frankfurt
Institute of Ecology, Evolution and Diversity
Zoological Garden of Frankfurt
Bernhard-Grzimek-Allee 1
60316 Frankfurt

Prof. Dr. Klaus Richter
Technische Universität München
Chair of Wood Science
Winzererstr. 45
80797 München

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schraml
Forest Experimental and Research Institute (FVA)
Wonnhaldestraße 4
79100 Freiburg

Management of the Scientific Advisory Board on Forest Policy (WBW)

Managing Director:
Dr. Christoph Neitzel

Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture (BMEL)
Division 513
Postal adress: 11055 Berlin
Telephone: +49 / (0)30 / 18 529 - 3887

© AdobeStock, sbp321 (42292196)

Released as basetext