Federal Minister Julia Klöckner is provided with technical support by the ministerial staff. The staff are headed by Beate Kasch, the State Secretary. The Parliamentary State Secretaries, who are appointed by the Federal President at the suggestion of the Federal Chancellor, ensure the exchange of information between the government and parliament.

They represent the Minister in the Bundestag, the Bundesrat and the parliamentary groups, and also in certain specialist areas. Other specialist expertise is provided by committees and research institutions.

Look into one of the BMEL buildings
© Ursula Böhmer

Overview of topics

State Sec­re­taries

The BMEL has a total of eight departments, known as directorates-general, which are headed by State Secretary Beate Kasch and which provide the minister with technical support.


The BMEL’s Ad­vi­so­ry Coun­cils

An advisory council is a permanent committee that acts in an advisory capacity. The BMEL currently has six advisory councils. They evaluate findings scientifically and advise decision makers or provide practical advice to the BMEL, as is the case with the Advisory Council on Rural Development (Sachverständigenrat Ländliche Entwicklung). To this end, the advisory councils deliver expert reports, issue statements and make recommendations.


In­sti­tu­tions with­in the BMEL's port­fo­lio

The institutions within the BMEL's portfolio include higher federal authorities, legally independent institutions, the federal research centres, institutions belonging to the Leibniz Association and recipients of institutional grants; these institutions are listed in detail on this page.


Use of cookies

Cookies help us to provide our services. By using our website you agree that we can use cookies. Read more on data protection and visit the following link: Data protection